Back to dataset

FCO index of Geographical NamesFCO Geographical Names for Other Locations

You're previewing the first 2 rows of this file.

Download this file
Geographic Location Official Name Name for Citizen Adjectival Name Notes
Occupied Palestinian Territories The Occupied Palestinian Territories Palestinian or Israeli (as appropriate) Palestinian or Israeli (as appropriate) The Occupied Palestinian Territories comprise the West Bank (including East Jerusalem) and the Gaza Strip. Informally, they may be called the 'West Bank and Gaza Strip', or the two constituent areas may be individually termed or labelled as 'West Bank' and 'Gaza Strip' as appropriate. The form 'Palestinian Territories' (with upper-case initial letters) or Palestine may also be used as a shortened form on an exceptional basis, provided that it is clear that it refers to the West Bank (including East Jerusalem) and the Gaza Strip. Her Majesty's Government does not recognise these territories as an independent state. Their permanent status has yet to be agreed. In the view of HMG the status of the whole of Jerusalem also remains to be determined. Following the adoption of UN General Assembly resolution 67/19, the United Nations Secretariat will use the designation 'State of Palestine' in all official United Nations documents and on nameplates in all United Nations meetings. The UK abstained on UN General Assembly resolution 67/19 and will continue to use the  designation 'Occupied Palestinian Territories'.
Taiwan The Republic of China Taiwanese Taiwanese Her Majesty's Government acknowledge the position of the People's Republic of China that Taiwan is a province of China.