You are here

Qualification framework technical data standard

Standard identifier: 
Standard Type: 
Technical Data Standards
Approved: Recommended
Date of Standard: 
Monday, 26 October 2015
Courses and qualifications
Target audience: 
Data modellers
ICT procurers
System developers or programmers

Technical data standards bind business data standards to a specific technical representation.

This technical data standard binds the qualification framework business data standard to an XML Schema representation.

A qualification framework is an ESCS recognised framework created for the purposes of qualification accreditation, credit transfer or comparison of different qualifications (in terms of level). 

A qualification framework is maintained by a qualification regulator or accreditor, such as Ofqual.

There are a number of qualification frameworks in use, including the Qualification and Credit Framework (QCF), the National Qualifications Framework (NQF) and the European Qualifications Framework (EQF).

Qualification frameworks typically consist of several levels (often eight or nine) that denote a level of difficulty. In some frameworks, a level may be further sub-divided into sub-levels in a hierarchy.

This is version 3.0, it replaces v2.0 of the technical data standard.